Member Spotlight: Cynthia Levis

cynthia levis photo

Meet Cynthia:

Cynthia Levis is a fiber artist from Lincoln, Nebraska. Her work has been shown in exhibitions across the country and she is a member of Noyes Gallery where she sells her work, including commissions. Cynthia is a member of Studio Art Quilt Associates, Fiber Works and American Quilter’s Society. She is a non-certified Quilt Judge and co-curator for the SAQA Architexture exhibition. Cynthia likes to use vibrant colors and intense quilting which can be seen in many of her art quilts.

Artist Statement:

Embroidery and cross-stitch was the beginning of my work with fiber. The “famous” Home Economics class in junior high school was the beginning of my sewing. I did make my share of traditional quilts throughout the years. During the last decade or so, I have focused my work on Art Quilts. I am not focused in one area of study. Instead, I make quilts based on an aspect that catches my eye with a strong design. I do enjoy surface design. I enjoy trying many different applications on fabric. I find Art Quilting feeds my creative soul.

Mini Portfolio

                  

Leave a Reply

